Christmas Spirit Reading 2018 to Begin…

2018 Christmas SPirit Reading Challenge

The FuN is Back !
Beginning Monday November 19.2018
Hosted by Michelle at truexmasspirit blog  to signup
Running until January 6 2019
All about reading Christmas in any genre
Candy Cane = 1 book read
Mistletoe = 2-4 books read
Christmas Tree = 5-6 books read
watching Christmas movies for FaLaLaLaLa +
Visions of Sugar Plums = reading with wee ones !

 

 

If you are restricted to a shorter reading time,
Michelle has that covered with a Christmas Spirit Readathon
beginning November 19th and ending December 2nd.
All the details HERE

2018 cmas spirit readathon

Easy enough to  begin with the #CSReadathon
then continue on with the full length
Christmas Reading Challenge
as they both begin November 19th.

Follow the links for full info
and add your participation to
this annual Seasonal Festivity.

Find us via #CSReadathon on social media Twitter,
Goodreads GroupPinterest board, FB Group, Instagram

I’m In!  and tracking my reads right Here beginning Monday November 19th.
Share yours by signing in and add your Christmas Spirit !

#CSReadathon 2018 Progress . . .

Final Week – completions for Dec 2 end and wrapup

Visions of Sugar Plum  reading of
You’re Doing That in the Talent Show?!
and some Fa la La la Christmas movie watching of
Mole’s Christmas Welcome from The Wind in the Willows
Alistair Sim
in an animated Christmas Carol
and the delighted discovery of A Cosmic Christmas movie on youtube

Rhys Bowen’s The Twelve Clues of  Christmas entertained me while I worked
online during the week along with a holiday Under a Maui Moon by Robin Jones Gunn
And a return to spend a pleasureable summertime in Ireland with old friends –
Summer at the Garden Cafe
by Felicity Hayes-McCoy
then back to wintry delights for a Holiday Homecoming by Jillian Hart

Definitely a successful #CSReadathon for 2018
Thanks to Michelle for hosting !

~*~

~ First Week ~ 8 completions ~

Christmas Tree level = 5-6 books ~ now completed

Four stories included in The Mistletoe Murder definitely held surprise endings!
No Ordinary Noel offered diversity in situation and voice – new to me author + narrator.
Knock, Knock You’re Dead by MC Beaton surprised me by her ability to put everything needed for a mystery into such a short piece of writing.  Hadn’t heard of this Hamish story before and happy to have found it at my library’s online site.
Plum Pudding Murder‘s cover caught my attention and the recipes added to the holiday appeal.  Part of the multiple mystery series by Minnesotan author, Joanne Fluke.
Holly Blues had the addition of suspense to this Texan mystery of Susan Wittig Albert.
A Quilt for Christmas,  a Civil war story by new to me author, Sandra Dallas, held additional historical interest of slaves in their attempts to be free and depicted women as they struggled to maintain diminishing daily life .
Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Tree classic of 1850 seemed unusual, moving from an account of gift giving celebrations to superstitions and supernatural stories of the area.
And
L.M.Montgomery’s heartwarming story of family on the Canadian prairies offered a happy note of Christmas past via Christmas at Red Butte.

A majority of my reads are audios allowing me to catch up with online work and wrapping up challenges etc before year end.  Thanks Giving for that option !
* I’ve also updated the goodreads I SPY CHALLENGE  for this new year of reading.
~ It begins this December 1st.
I’d love to see which books you SPY !
~ * ~

More Festive FuN queued for week two . . .

Ten Lords a leaping cc benison audio

Canadian authored by C.C. Benison of the Father Christmas Mysteries
set in an English village – 2 more in series follow.

How’s your #CSReadathon lining up ?

I look forward to hearing how it’s going – which FaLaLaLaLa movies have you watched?
I’ll have to get a list of possibilities from you in comments.
If you care to share – Thanks for inspiring!

 

Sharing with Kathryn at The Book Date
Find more reading each week  and add your own week’s readinglink .

book date new

 

10 thoughts on “Christmas Spirit Reading 2018 to Begin…

  1. Wow! You really got some good reading in for the readathon and I know your festive reading will continue throughout the season. Thanks for joining in once again!

  2. Nice variety of books. I haven’t any Christmas stories on my stack now but read a couple earlier that were for review. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  3. Have fun with your challenge. I read a couple of Christmas books last month but don’t have any on tap for December. December, for me, is catching up on books I want to read. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

Welcome to FHC !

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.