2015 LIBRARY LOVE READING CHALLENGE


Now that I’m back from studies with my certificate in handand have happily regained online access,I’m doing a bit of catchup blog reading.
I’m delighted to find the host of my usual Monday’s post, Sheila, of
It’s Monday! What are you Reading at Book Journey
has thrown down the gauntlet for a 2015 Library Reading Challengepromoting support of our local libraries.


*As a lifelong library fan and supporter,Sheila’s 2015 Library Reading Challenge is welcomed!I’m in and Going Pro at 28+[getting my reading list ready for online selecting with a
January 2015 pick up]!!
I’ve added my participation at my Goodreads profile.*Love Library Reading Challenge 

1. Christmas Every Morning by Lisa T Bergren  2. Traveling Mercies by Anne Lamott3. Christmas Past by Debra White Smith4. Barcelona Calling by Jane Kirkpatrick5. Be My Companion by M Jean Stairs6. Snow Angel by Jamie Carie7. I Only Want to Be With You by Lisa Norato [dnf]8. Wish You Were Here by Victoria Connelly9. The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky10. Finding Father Christmas by Robin Jones Gunn11. London Dawn by Murray Pura12. The Vintage Teacup Club by Vanessa Greene13. Jane and the Twelve Days of Christmas by Stephanie Barron14. All Together Now by Monica McInerney15. After the Funeral by Agatha Christie *15/28+ books


*
As Sheila says, “basically this challenge will be for you to get to know your local library in 2015. . . would be thrilled if you went the extra mile and found out what else your library has to offer and shared it on your websites (if you blog).

of course.. there are fun levels of commitment:
 1-5 check outs in 2015 – NOVICE
6-11 check outs in 2015 – ROOKIE
12- 16 check outs in 2015 – INTERMEDIATE
17 – 22 check outs in 2015 – SEASONED
23 – 27 check outs in 2015 – EXPERIENCED
28 + check outs in 2015 – GOING PRO!
 Check outs count for anything bookish – books, audio, even e-reader book check outs (yes, libraries have these now!).  Go… meet your library again and fall in love.  🙂
And a shameless plug for the Friends Of The Library.  If your library has this group, consider signing up.  It is usually quite inexpensive to be a member and your membership supports your local library.  As book lovers, we are a huge community asset and by sharing our love of books with others we are breathing life into the written word and into our libraries.


My public library [with all its branches]has amazing check out opps that allow me to reserveand check out ebooks and audiobooks wherever I am –even when I’m out of town.I can view the entire library catalogue of all branches whereverI have online access.It also allows me to forward books, dvds, and audios to mylocal branch, rather than driving out of my locale to pick up.I can place holds for new books, dvds, and audios on orderor in cataloguing which also allows me to get in queue for popular requested items.Books are available in quantity for book clubs, storytimes for children, lunch hour live music at our downtown location, along with a coffee and tea shop, a writer in residence for aspiring writer consultations, book sales by the bag and individually – a great way to pick up copies of new releases and wishlist books/audios/dvds, opps to offer item recommendations, free wifi for enjoying the quiet library ambience I value, great music cds available for year-round and as now, for Christmas, and much more!
Then there’s my university library amalgamation allowing me to borrow from all member libraries.  They will interloan and send my requests to the local choice, provide a postage paid envelope for returns, and online searches and holds for selections.  Another reason for me to dearly love libraries!
My church library is another fav book source, having been librarian and assistant there when still a teenager.  A large catalogue available online for searching during midweek allows me to arrive knowing which choices are available.  And if I’m in a hurry, the library opens Wednesday evening as a service to all attendingmidweek programs for adults, youth and children.I was able to connect the library this autumn with a program offering pcs for libraries so the library now has onsite computers for patrons use.The library also provides audios of guest speakers, a huge dvd collection for children, youth and adults, audiobooks, and cds.Another library I love to support!
As a lifelong library fan and supporter,Sheila’s 2015 Library Reading Challenge is welcomed!I’m in and Going Pro at 28+[getting my reading list ready for online selecting with a
January 2015 pick up]!!
I’ve added my participation at my Goodreads profile.*
*How about you?  Are you a library patron?What do you love about your library?  Any special features offered?
Head over to Book Journey and let your voice be heardthen get your library card activated!
HapPy Library Visiting ~ See you there…?



*
FIND MORE FHC on PINTEREST | TWITTER | GOOGLE+ | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK | NETWORKED BLOGS
*

*

Shared with –
* Homemaking Party @ Sarah’s *

5 thoughts on “2015 LIBRARY LOVE READING CHALLENGE

  1. Hello, I joined the challenge too.
    Since 2013 I've been a regular at my library after years of not attending when I just bought books. So far this year 85% of the books I read were from the library. And I'm getting close to my 52 books in a year. So I went pro, shouldn't be a problem. I wrote a post about libraries in Warsaw here: https://forculturessake.wordpress.com/2014/12/17/local-libraries-in-warsaw-and-a-challenge/

    I see we are/were participating in the same challenges. You also participated in the world literature challenges, so maybe you would be interested in my challenge. It's Around the World: A to Z (sorted by author's country name in their official language). It's stickied on the start page. 😉

  2. Vicki – way to go for more! glad you're participating!

    Lucy – lovely to see you here with your always inspiriting presence and kind words! TY!! hoping to find you participating at your excellent library along with me in this challenge! 😉

    Sheila – thanks for initiating this library challenge FuN!

  3. Congratulations on getting your certificate! and welcome home! Especially delighted to see your lovely online presence again. Thanks for the photos and light-filled thoughts especially now at Christmas, and looking forward to 2015, as in this challenge. I love my local library too! It is part of a county network, with daily deliveries and sharing among them, so we get a wonderful selection of new and old books. It also has book sales overflowing with people's donations twice a year. Truly an abundance of blessings. Thanks for the news of this challenge, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

