MONDAY READING FOR AUSTEN IN AUGUST 3.8.14



and I’m fully enjoying my Austen in August book vacationfor this long weekend!
At least my 4th year of participating, it’s one event I plan for in advance – book selections and squeezing in reading time!
Visiting 2 different libraries on Friday turned up new additionsto my already lonnng list , so we’ll discover what books actually  get conquered.  Guaranteed I’ll have pleasure in the process!
My anticipated first read got bumped when I discovered a newcontemporary version of NorthAnger Abbey – Book 2 of The Austen Project – available in the 1 week library express reads.  I’m already 2/3rds through.Val McDermid writes of Cat Morland’s invitation to Edinburgh’s Book Festival, modern equivalent of being seen by the ton at Bath in JA’s original N.A.  Ms McDermid’s done a credible job ofcreating the gothic atmosphere and complementary characters to the original.  I’m enjoying the mockup!

*My original reason for the library trip was to pick up the audio of Longbourn by Jo Baker

I’m anticipating a brilliant imaginative      story with this one!
Irresistible below-stairs answer to Pride and Prejudice: a story of the romance, intrigue, and drama among the servants of the Bennet household, a triumphant tale of defying society’s expectations, and an illuminating glimpse of working-class lives in Regency England.





*I also managed to snap up 2 dvds for this extra long weekend viewing of the Austen in August theme…Northanger Abbey and Austenland !Care to join me?  kettle corn awaits…*Final novel additions that changed my AinA list include: 



and


*Lots of Jane Austen pinned HEREfor your enjoyment and inspiration!
*Hoping you’re reading wherever you are !Find more books at Sheila’s Book Journey linkup for*


*and more #AusteninAugust




*
FIND MORE FHC on PINTEREST | TWITTER | GOOGLE+ | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK | NETWORKED BLOGS
*



SHARED WITH ~*SARAH’S HOMEMAKING PARTY**Katherine’s Favorite Things*

17 thoughts on “MONDAY READING FOR AUSTEN IN AUGUST 3.8.14

  1. Austen in August sounds like such a fun idea! I've heard great things about Longbourne. I hope you enjoy all of your Austen books and movies this week!

  2. Hmm I enjoy the movie versions of Jane Austen but not a big reader of her. Although have read some. Longbourn though – you've just hooked me in, love the sound of it.

  3. I have the print version of Longbourn, just think it sounds good and I've heard the writing is good too. Looking forward to giving it a try here at some point… enjoy your Austen fun!

Leave a Reply

